الرابطة السورية لكرامة المواطن تقدم احتجاجاً إلى حكومة المملكة المتحدة بشأن عمليات الترحيل المحتملة للاجئين السوريين إلى رواندا

  • الرئيسية
  • المقالات
  • الرابطة السورية لكرامة المواطن تقدم احتجاجاً إلى حكومة المملكة المتحدة بشأن عمليات الترحيل المحتملة للاجئين السوريين إلى رواندا

الرابطة السورية لكرامة المواطن تقدم احتجاجاً إلى حكومة المملكة المتحدة بشأن عمليات الترحيل المحتملة للاجئين السوريين إلى رواندا 

 

انضمت الرابطة السورية لكرامة المواطن (رابطة كرامة) إلى العديد من المنظمات والشخصيات العامة، التي دعت حكومة المملكة المتحدة إلى التراجع عن قرارها بترحيل طالبي اللجوء إلى رواندا، بما في ذلك عدد من اللاجئين السوريين. 

في خطاب موجه إلى جوناثان هارغريفز، مبعوث المملكة المتحدة الخاص لسوريا، أعرب أمناء الرابطة السورية لكرامة المواطن عن استيائهم من “الأنباء المقلقة عن عدد من اللاجئين السوريين الذين يطلبون اللجوء في المملكة المتحدة وتعرضهم للتهديد بالترحيل إلى رواندا بموجب السياسة الجديدة من قبل وزارة الداخلية في المملكة المتحدة “. ووفقاً للمعلومات التي أفاد بها نشطاء حقوق اللاجئين في المملكة المتحدة، من بين الكثيرين الذين يتعرضون لهذا التهديد، تلقى تسعة سوريين محتجزين حالياً في مراكز احتجاز في المملكة المتحدة رسائل تخبرهم بأنهم سيوضعون على متن الطائرة المتجهة إلى كيغالي في 14 حزيران. 

وجاء في الخطاب “لقد صدم هذا القرار المرعب المهجرين السوريين في كل مكان، باعتباره خطوة جاءت في وقت يواجهون فيه بالفعل ضغوطاً متزايدة في بعض الدول مثل الدنمارك ولبنان وتركيا للعودة إلى سوريا غير الآمنة. ونعتقد أنه ليست هناك حاجة للتذكير بالاضطهاد والتعذيب والمعاناة التي فر منها هؤلاء اللاجئون السوريون، ومن ثم تمكنوا من الوصول إلى ما يعتقدون أنه مكان آمن في المملكة المتحدة. لقد كنا شاكرين لبيانكم الصادر في كانون الثاني من هذا العام، والذي تم الاعتراف فيه بهذه الحقيقة، عندما تم تأكيد ذلك بعد تراجع وزارة الداخلية عن قرارها بالبدء في إعادة السوريين إلى سوريا: “موقف المملكة المتحدة لم يتغير: سوريا ليست آمنة حالياً لعودة اللاجئين، ونحن لا نعيد الناس إلى سوريا”. 

وتؤكد الرابطة السورية لكرامة المواطن على أن إرسال هؤلاء الأشخاص الآن إلى رواندا، وهي دولة لم يحاول أي لاجئ سوري، من أصل 13 مليون مهجر سوري، الفرار واللجوء إليها، وليس لهم أي صلة بها على الإطلاق، من شأنه أن يرقى إلى عقوبة قاسية تسبب خوفاً ومعاناةً ومحنةً لا حدود لها للمستهدفين بهذه السياسة. وكتب أمناء الرابطة “ووفقاً لمعلوماتنا، فقد بدأ بالفعل عدد من السوريين المهددين بالترحيل إلى رواندا إضراباً عن الطعام في مركز احتجاز بروك هاوس. كما أوضحوا لمصادرنا أنهم على استعداد للموت قبل أن يتم ترحيلهم إلى رواندا”. 

وقد حذرت شبكة علم الجريمة الحدودي، وهي شبكة دولية من الباحثين والممارسين وأولئك الذين لديهم خبرة في مراقبة الحدود، في رسالتها الموجهة إلى حكومة المملكة المتحدة من أن “هناك أدلة واسعة النطاق توثق آثار المعاملة خارج الحدود على الصحة العقلية والبدنية للمتضررين (انظر تقرير منظمة أطباء بلا حدود هنا ودراسات إضافية عن حوادث إيذاء النفس هنا). وأدى إبعاد طالبي اللجوء “خارج الحدود” عن التدقيق، في سياقات أخرى، إلى معاملة غير إنسانية ممنهجة، والتي لا ينبغي للحكومة البريطانية أن تتغاضى عنها (انظر منظمة العفو هنا)، و تشمل الأدلة من النظام الأسترالي، على سبيل المثال، الظروف المعيشية غير الملائمة، وحالات الانتهاك الجنسي والجسدي من قبل الموظفين ضد طالبي اللجوء، وعدم كفاية العلاج الطبي والنفسي، وعدم احترام حقوق الأطفال (انظر هنا)”. 

وذكر خطاب الرابطة الموجه إلى هارغريفز “إننا نؤيد تماماً هذا الرأي وندعو إلى عدم تعرض اللاجئين السوريين أو اللاجئين الفارين من الاضطهاد لهذه الوحشية”. 

وتردد الرابطة السورية لكرامة المواطن تصريحات وبيانات العديد من المجموعات والأفراد الحقوقيين، الذين حذروا أيضاً من أن خطط ترحيل اللاجئين، بمن فيهم السوريين، يتعارض مع التزام المملكة المتحدة بموجب اتفاقية اللاجئين والاتفاقية الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان، ومن المرجح أن يتعرضوا إلى الاحتجاز المطول والتعسفي، والتدخل في الأسرة والحياة الخاصة، وخطر عدم كفاية الفحوصات الوقائية، وعدم الوصول إلى إجراءات فحص اللجوء وعمليات الاستئناف أو الطعن العادلة والفعالة، والظروف المعيشية غير الإنسانية، وافتقار الوصول إلى المرافق الطبية المناسبة، ورفض الحلول الدائمة في الوقت المناسب، والأكثر إثارة للقلق الإعادة القسرية. 

واختتم خطاب الرابطة الموجه إلى حكومة المملكة المتحدة، “نحن على دراية بالتحديات القانونية المستمرة لسياسة وزارة الداخلية، ونأمل أنهم سيقدمون الإغاثة لجميع اللاجئين المهددين بالترحيل إلى رواندا. ومع ذلك، نحن نؤمن بشدة بضرورة التخلي عن هذه السياسة، وأن اللاجئين السوريين الذين تمكنوا من الوصول إلى المملكة المتحدة يجب أن يُسمح لهم بطلب اللجوء فيها. 

عزيزي السيد هارغريفز، نحن في الرابطة السورية لكرامة المواطن نؤمن بشدة أن أفعالك وتصريحاتك السابقة توضح القلق الذي نتشاركه جميعاً حول مصير اللاجئين السوريين. مع وضع ذلك في الاعتبار، نعرب عن أملنا الصادق في أن تبذلوا قصارى جهدكم لنقل قلقنا العميق إلى المسؤولين المعنيين في حكومة المملكة المتحدة وأن تكونوا صوت اللاجئين السوريين في المناشدة لعكس هذا القرار، الذي لا يهدد المتضررين بشكل مباشر فحسب، بل أيضاً يمثل واحدة من أسوأ السوابق في طريقة تعامل الحكومات المضيفة مع اللاجئين السوريين”. 

وتخضع الآن سياسة الترحيل الخاصة بحكومة المملكة المتحدة في رواندا للمراجعة القضائية بعد الطعون القانونية من قبل عدد من الأفراد المتضررين وجماعات حقوق الإنسان. وتؤكد الرابطة السورية لكرامة المواطن على أنه يجب عكس هذه السياسة، لتكون الحقوق الأساسية للاجئين السوريين وغيرهم من اللاجئين محمية في المملكة المتحدة. 

اكتب تعليقاً

SACD lodges protest to UK government over possible deportations of Syrian refugees to Rwanda

  • Home
  • Articles
  • SACD lodges protest to UK government over possible deportations of Syrian refugees to Rwanda

SACD lodges protest to UK government over possible deportations of Syrian refugees to Rwanda

 

Syrian Association for Citizens’ Dignity (SACD) joined numerous organisations and public figures calling on the UK government to reverse its decision to deport asylum seekers, including a number of Syrian refugees, to Rwanda.

In a letter addressed to Jonathan Hargreaves, the UK Special Envoy on Syria, the SACD Board of Trustees expressed dismay at the “disturbing news of a number of Syrian refugees seeking asylum in the United Kingdom being threatened with deportation to Rwanda under the new policy by the UK Home Office.” According to the information reported by refugee rights’ activists in the UK, out of the many who are under this threat, nine Syrians currently held in detention centers in the UK, have received letters informing them they will be put on the plane to Kigali on the 14th of June.

“This horrendous decision has shocked displaced Syrians everywhere as a step that comes at a time when they are already facing increasing pressure to return to an unsafe Syria in countries like Denmark, Lebanon or Turkey. We believe there is no need to remind of the persecution, torture and suffering which those Syrian refugees – who managed to reach what they believe was safety in the United Kingdom – are fleeing from. We were thankful for your statement from January of this year where this reality was acknowledged when you asserted it following the reversal of the Home Office’s decision to start sending people back to Syria: “UK position remains unchanged: Syria is not currently safe for refugee returns. We are not sending people back to Syria.”’, states the letter.

SACD maintains that to now send these people to Rwanda, a country where no Syrian refugee, of the 13 million displaced, ever attempted to flee to and has no connections with whatsoever, would amount to a cruel punishment causing immeasurable fear, anguish and distress to those targeted with this policy. “According to our information, a number of Syrians who have been threatened with deportations to Rwanda have already started a hunger strike at the Brook House detention center. They have made it clear to our sources that they are ready to die before being deported to Rwanda,” wrote SACD trustees.

Border Criminologies, an international network of researchers, practitioners, and those who have experienced border controls, in their letter addressed to the UK Government, have warned that “there is widespread evidence documenting the effects of offshore processing on the mental and physical health of those affected (see MSF’s report here, and additional studies on incidences of self-harm here). Putting those seeking asylum ‘offshore’, away from scrutiny, has in other contexts resulted in systematic inhumane treatment which the British government should not condone (see Amnesty here). Evidence from the Australian system, for example, includes inadequate living conditions, instances of sexual and physical abuse by staff against asylum seekers, inadequate medical and psychological treatment, and failure to respect the rights of children (see here).”

“We fully endorse this view and plead that Syrian refugees or any refugees fleeing persecution are not subjected to this inhumanity,” stated the SACD letter to Hargreaves.

SACD echoed statements of many human rights groups and individuals who also warned that the plans to deport refugees, including Syrians, are contrary to the UK’s obligation under the Refugee Convention and the European Convention on Human Rights, as they will likely expose them to the use of prolonged and arbitrary detention, interferences in family and private life, risk of inadequate safeguarding screenings, lack of access to fair and efficient asylum screening procedures and appeals processes, inhumane living conditions, lack of access to appropriate medical facilities, the denial of timely durable solutions and, most worryingly, refoulment.

“We are aware of the ongoing legal challenges to Home Office’s policy and hope they will provide relief to all refugees threatened with deportations to Rwanda. However, we strongly believe that the policy should be abandoned and that Syrian refugees who managed to reach the UK should be allowed to claim asylum there.

Dear Mr. Hargreaves, we strongly believe that your previous actions and statements illustrate a concern for the fate of displaced Syrians that we in the Syrian Association for Citizens’ Dignity share. With this in mind we express our sincere hope that you will do everything in your power to relay our deep concern to the relevant officials of the UK Government and be the voice of Syrian refugees in the plea to reverse this decision which not only threatens those directly affected but also sets one of the worst precedents in the way host governments are treating Syrian refugees,” concluded the SACD letter addressed to the government of the United Kingdom.

UK government’s Rwanda deportation policy is now under judicial review following legal challenges by a number of affected individuals and human rights groups. SACD maintains that the policy must be reversed if the basic rights of Syrian and other refugees in the UK are to be protected.

Leave A Comment